IESA Announces New Executive Council for 2021

Jan 12, 2022

India Electronics and Semiconductor Association (IESA) announced Mr. Rajeev Khushu, Director of Corporate Affairs and Government Relations, Texas Instruments, as Chairperson of the Board of Directors & Executive Committee effective immediately. Rajeev succeeds Mr. Satya Gupta, who will continue as an advisor to the board. Mr. Vivek Tyagi will support Rajeev, GM (BU Head), RP Tech India, the new vice-chairperson, Mr. Ruchir Dixit, Country Manager, Mentor Graphics, the new Treasurer of IESA. Rajeev has been involved with IESA for over a decade and has served as a board member of IESA in 2017 and 2018 and vice-chairman in 2020-21.

An industry veteran in the ESDM space, Rajeev has experience of close to three decades. He has contributed immensely in the area of “Make in India and Design in India.” He was actively involved in setting up of Atmel sales and application team in India before joining Texas Instruments in 2006. Over the last 5 years, he has been involved in strategy and corporate affairs across business units, working with various government departments like the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, the Ministry of Defense, MoEF, and DST.

Speaking about his current role at IESA, Mr. Rajeev Khushu, Chairperson IESA, said, “I’m honored to be appointed as IESA Chairman. I’m working with the new Executive Council. I will strive to make India a preferred destination for Innovative Electronic product designs & Semiconductor Products, with globally competitive manufacturing, industry-friendly and fiscally attractive policies, and best in the world talent.” He further added, “last year has been challenging. Still, despite the pandemic, the ESDM sector grew in all design, manufacturing, and export of ESDM products.

The design ecosystem grew further in India, and most of the global players are expanding their presence in India in their design centers. Semiconductor design and manufacturing is no longer nice to have but has become strategic because of measures taken by countries around the globe. IESA is working on multiple initiatives towards this goal, one of which is the 1K-10K-100K-1000K program which aims to create 1K electronics & fabless start-ups, 10K IPs, and 100K Crore business value, and 1000K ESDM job. IESA envisages a vibrant and inclusive ESDM eco-system with participation from every state of India and developing products & technologies which will address national and global challenges.”

Welcoming the new Chairperson, the outgoing Chairperson Dr. Satya Gupta said, “IESA has made impactful progress for over a decade and a half in making India the global hub for ESDM industry by focusing on semiconductor & electronics products, manufacturing, and R&D ecosystem. I want to acknowledge the exceptional efforts put in by my fellow IESA Executive Council members, along with the support from government, industry, and academia, in making progress towards a robust ESDM industry. I’m excited to welcome Rajeev Khushu as the new Chairperson of IESA.

I’m confident that he and the new executive council will grow the ESDM ecosystem to the next level. Rajeev having a wealth of experience with the industry and government institutions combined with his infectious energy will help grow the ESDM industry and achieve a $1T economy. I take this opportunity to wish the very best Rajeev Khushu and the IESA Executive in their efforts to continue to drive the Indian ESDM ecosystem.”

IESA has been instrumental in working with the central and state government to bring out favorable policies to enable the Indian electronics and semiconductor sector by driving numerous initiatives to bring awareness to the policymakers and working closely with them to help the industry overcome impediments for growth. IESA has also been at the helm towards new government initiatives like ‘Make in India,’ ‘Start-up India,’ and ‘Digital India’ and has given valuable consultations to international companies interested in set-up electronics and chip designing facilities in the country. The Executive Council will continue working towards achieving the vision laid down collectively by the association member community.

The New Executive Council also includes Guru Moorthy Ganesan, Arm Embedded Technologies, Pradeep Vajram, AlphaICs India, Venkata Simhadri, MosChip Technologies, Sunny Malhotra, Toyota Tsusho Nexty Electronics India, Pradip Thaker, Marvell India, Dr. Sreeram Srinivasan, Syrma SGS Technology, and Bhavna Sethi, Micron Technology.

Author: Mr. Rajeev Khushu, Director Corporate Affairs & Government Relations

To view the original article, please click here.